WINNERS LIST: AKA And Others Win Big At The Metro FM Awards

The late rapper AKA may be gone, but he is not forgotten and continues to triumph.

He received four posthumous honors at the Metro FM awards on Saturday, May 6, which were hosted at Mbombela Stadium in Mpumalanga.

For his song Lemonade, which featured Nasty C, he received the Artist of the Year Award, Best Hip-Hop Artist Award, Best Male Artist Award, and Best Collaboration Song Award.

AKA’s parents, Lynn and Tony Forbes, collected the awards along with his daughter, Kairo.

The award ceremony, which returned after a five-year break, were hosted by Katlego Maboe and Lerato Kganyago.

Guests were entertained by performances from their favorite stars such as rapper, 25k, Sjava, Inkabi Nation and Nomfundo Moh.

Another winner on the night was DJ Tira, who walked away with two awards for Best Kwaito or Gqom and Best Music Video for his song, Sikilidi.

“I am super happy with this. It shows that if you believe in something you will get it no matter where you come from” he said.

Skye Wanda won the Best House Song Award for her hit song. Amazwi. She said she was grateful for the support she received from her fans.

Betusile Mcinga, who won Song of the Year for gospel smash, Ngena Noah, said he felt blessed and it was all made possible by his fans’ and family’s support.

SABC spokeswoman, Monni Seapolela, said she was excited about this year’s awards as they have brought joy to many talents. She said they have been working hard to see this beautiful end product.

Here are the other winners:

  • Zuko SA – Best Afro-soul Pop Song for Andikalibali
  • Deep London – Best Amapiano Song for Hamba Wena
  • Inkabi Nation – Best Duo or Group
  • Makhadzi – Best Female Artist
  • Pastor Lungi Ndala – Best Gospel Album for Victorious Praise
  • Nduduzo Makhathini – Best Jazz Album for In The Spirit of Ntu
  • MOE – Best New Age R&B Artist
  • Deep London feat Boohle – Best Viral Challenge (Hamba Wena)
  • New Artist – CocoSA
  • Musa Keys – Best Styled Artist
  • Dr Esther Mahlangu and Mafikizolo – Lifetime Award Achievement
  • Africa Award – Waters (Namibia)

PICTURES: SA Celebs Shine At Metro FM Awards Red Carpet

MP3: TAYKATRIP – Green Light Freestyle (Bonus)